Compute Equity Atlas
← National map
Source-backed project record · TX

Elbow Creek HPC Data Center (Clearway / Satoshi Energy)

This record consolidates 15 research observations while retaining source distinctions, location precision and unresolved fields.

operationalproject status
CORROBORATEDbest evidence tier
15linked evidence rows
Project facts

Location and operating record

Operator / developerNOT_FOUND (Satoshi Energy provided development and advisory services)
JurisdictionBig Spring (vicinity), TX
AddressNot published
Location precisionparcel or bounded site
CoordinatesNot published; no coordinate inferred
CapacityNot established
AliasesElbow Creek HPC Data Center (Clearway / Satoshi Energy) · Elbow Creek · Satoshi Energy Elbow Creek · Elbow Creek data center
Evidence coverage

What has been researched

Project profile0 rows
Intent / permits0 rows
Civic / infrastructure1 rows
SOURCE RECORD

Elbow Creek HPC Data Center (Clearway / Satoshi Energy): source record

operational

Crypto-to-HPC evolution: originally described as bitcoin-related in the 2023 county agreement, announced in 2025 as a high-performance computing data center. Data center MW capacity was not disclosed; the 122 MW figure is the host wind farm nameplate, not the compute load.

Key data: Co-located behind the Elbow Creek wind farm (122 MW nameplate, commissioned 2008, repowered 2019) | ERCOT

Claim classification: Not yet assigned

Status date: 2026-09-05

Open source 1 →

OWNERSHIP AND PROFILE

Elbow Creek HPC Data Center (Clearway / Satoshi Energy): ownership and profile

operational

Developer: Clearway Energy Group with Satoshi Energy | Owner: Clearway Energy Group (host wind farm owner) | County: Howard | Research region: Abilene-West Central Texas / Midland-Odessa-Permian Basin

Claim classification: Not yet assigned

Status date: 2026-09-05

Open source 1 →

POWER AND GRID

Elbow Creek HPC Data Center (Clearway / Satoshi Energy): power and grid

operational

Key data: Utility: Co-located behind the Elbow Creek wind farm (122 MW nameplate, commissioned 2008, repowered 2019) | Utility region: ERCOT West | Grid area: ERCOT | Onsite generation MW: 122

Claim classification: Not yet assigned

Status date: 2026-09-05

Open source 1 →

WATER AND COOLING

Elbow Creek HPC Data Center (Clearway / Satoshi Energy): water and cooling

operational

Claim classification: Not yet assigned

Status date: 2026-09-05

Open source 1 →

PERMITS AND JURISDICTION

Elbow Creek HPC Data Center (Clearway / Satoshi Energy): permits and jurisdiction

operational

Key data: Jurisdictions: Howard County | Big Spring Economic Development Corporation | ERCOT | Tax incentives: [object Object] | {"agreement_name":"Howard County Chapter 381 economic development agreement - Elbow Creek data center","agreement_number":"NOT_FOUND","approval_date":"2023-09-22 (reported)","estimated_value":"Reimbursement program","government_entity":"Howard County","investment_commitment":"Up to $110 million","jobs_commitment":"NOT_FOUND","source_url":"https://kbst.com/2023/09/22/howard-county-approves-agreement-with-new-data-center/","term":"NOT_FOUND"}

Claim classification: Not yet assigned

Status date: 2026-09-05

Open source 1 →

CIVIC AND COMMUNITY

Elbow Creek HPC Data Center (Clearway / Satoshi Energy): civic and community

operational

County Judge Randy Johnson, Big Spring EDC's Mark Willis and Teresa Morris involved in the 2023 agreement

Claim classification: Not yet assigned

Status date: 2026-09-05

Open source 1 →

ENVIRONMENT AND SITE

Elbow Creek HPC Data Center (Clearway / Satoshi Energy): environment and site

operational

Co-located with an existing 122 MW wind farm rather than new grid load

Claim classification: Not yet assigned

Status date: 2026-09-05

Open source 1 →

operational

Key data: Surrounding infrastructure: Elbow Creek wind farm (122 MW nameplate, 2008, repowered 2019)

Claim classification: Not yet assigned

Status date: 2026-09-05

Open source 1 →

TIMELINE

Elbow Creek HPC Data Center (Clearway / Satoshi Energy): timeline

operational

Howard County approves a Chapter 381 reimbursement agreement with the Elbow Creek data center; up to $110M investment, bitcoin-related with possible expansion to cloud and a possible phase 2

Claim classification: Not yet assigned

Status date: 2023-09-22

Open source 1 →

operational

Clearway announces an HPC data center co-located with the Elbow Creek wind farm; phase 1 energized 2025, phase 2 completion 2026

Claim classification: Not yet assigned

Status date: 2025-08-06

Open source 1 →

operational

Howard County newsflash: 'Data Center Reports That They Will Build West of Big Spring'

Claim classification: Not yet assigned

Status date: 2023-05-08

Open source 1 →

PROJECT STATUS

Elbow Creek HPC Data Center (Clearway / Satoshi Energy): project status

operational

Clearway announced a high-performance computing data center co-located with its Elbow Creek wind farm in Howard County, with Satoshi Energy providing development and advisory services; phase 1 was energized in 2025 and phase 2 was targeted for completion in 2026.

Key data: Phase 1 energized 2025; phase 2 completion 2026

Claim classification: SOURCED_FACT · Verification: VERIFIED · Retrieved: 2026-09-05

Status date: 2025-08-06

Open source 1 →

ONSITE GENERATION

Elbow Creek HPC Data Center (Clearway / Satoshi Energy): onsite generation

operational

The data center is co-located with the Elbow Creek wind farm, rated at 122 MW nameplate, commissioned in 2008 and repowered in 2019.

Key data: Elbow Creek wind farm: 122 MW nameplate, 2008, repowered 2019

Claim classification: SOURCED_FACT · Verification: VERIFIED · Retrieved: 2026-09-05

Status date: 2025-08-06

Limitation: 122 MW is the host wind farm nameplate, not the data center IT load, which was not disclosed.

Open source 1 →

TAX INCENTIVES

Elbow Creek HPC Data Center (Clearway / Satoshi Energy): tax incentives

operational

Howard County approved a Chapter 381 reimbursement agreement with the 'Elbow Creek data center' covering up to $110 million of investment; the project was described as bitcoin-related with possible expansion into cloud and a possible phase 2.

Key data: Chapter 381 agreement; up to $110 million investment

Claim classification: SOURCED_FACT · Verification: VERIFIED · Retrieved: 2026-09-05

Status date: 2023-09-22

Open source 1 →

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Elbow Creek HPC Data Center (Clearway / Satoshi Energy): economic development

operational

Howard County posted a public newsflash titled 'Data Center Reports That They Will Build West of Big Spring', with a referenced presentation but no published details.

Key data: County newsflash on a data center west of Big Spring

Claim classification: SOURCED_FACT · Verification: PARTIALLY_VERIFIED · Retrieved: 2026-09-05

Status date: 2023-05-08

Limitation: Newsflash gives no project name; attribution to Elbow Creek is inferred from timing and geography.

Open source 1 →

Sources

Evidence and provenance

Open TX state research →

Elbow Creek HPC Data Center (Clearway / Satoshi Energy) Data Center Project | Big Spring (vicinity) | Compute Equity Atlas