Compute Equity Atlas
← National map
Source-backed project record · IN

Metrobloks

This canonical record consolidates 12 source-backed observations without discarding aliases, limitations or unresolved dimensions.

approved_or_permittedproject status
CORROBORATEDbest evidence tier
12linked evidence rows
Project facts

Location and operating record

Operator / developerMetrobloks (IND A1); 72–75 MW
JurisdictionMarion County, IN
Address2505 N. Sherman Drive, historically Black Martindale Brightwood
Location precisionstreet address
Coordinatesnull, null
Capacity75 MW
AliasesMetrobloks
Evidence coverage

What has been researched

Project profile8 rows
Intent / permits0 rows
Civic / infrastructure4 rows
OWNERSHIP CHAIN

Metrobloks: ownership chain

DISCOVERY_LEAD

NOT_FOUND. Fetched trade coverage, trackers, local reporting and metrobloks.com (which returned no usable content) — no land owner, parent company or registered agent for Metrobloks' Indianapolis entity was published.

Key data: n.a. (developer Metrobloks; CEO named Ernest/Earnest Popescu)

Limitation: Company website content not extractable; CEO name spelled inconsistently across sources.

Open source →

OPERATOR

Metrobloks: operator

CORROBORATED

Metrobloks is described as both developer and operator of the metro-edge AI-ready facility (site code IND A1), 72–75 MW at buildout.

Key data: Metrobloks (IND A1); 72–75 MW

Limitation: No tenant named.

Open source →

POWER SUPPLIER

Metrobloks: power supplier

CORROBORATED

Public radio reporting states the facility would draw electricity through contracts with AES Indiana rather than from the residential grid.

Key data: AES Indiana (contracted supply)

Limitation: No contract ID or IURC cause number published.

Open source →

WATER SUPPLIER

Metrobloks: water supplier

CORROBORATED

A closed-loop cooling system is planned: ~19,000 gallons to fill the first building and ~47,500 gallons for the second, recirculated rather than consumed. No water utility is named.

Key data: ~19,000 gal (bldg 1) + ~47,500 gal (bldg 2), closed loop

Limitation: Supplier name NOT_FOUND (Citizens Energy Group not confirmed for this site).

Open source →

JURISDICTION STACK

Metrobloks: jurisdiction stack

CORROBORATED

The Metropolitan Development Commission approved the rezoning (April/May 2026) and the City-County Council was engaged on the project and on a temporary stay for high-impact data centers; the site is in Indianapolis/Marion County.

Key data: MDC; Indianapolis City-County Council; Marion County

Limitation: Tax abatement cases 2026-A-016/017 were not directly fetched this session.

Open source →

PLANNING ZONING CONTACT / ECON DEV CONTACT

Metrobloks: planning zoning contact / econ dev contact

DISCOVERY_LEAD

NOT_FOUND for named staff. Coverage identifies the MDC as the deciding body and City-County Councilor Ron Gibson as the area representative, but no planner, case manager or economic-development officer was named for this project.

Key data: Councilor Ron Gibson (district representative)

Limitation: Abatement petitions handled through Indianapolis DMD; staff not named in fetched sources.

Open source →

GENERAL CONTACT

Metrobloks: general contact

DISCOVERY_LEAD

NOT_FOUND. The only project-side contact identified is the CEO by name; reporters noted Metrobloks did not respond to email inquiries and the corporate site returned no extractable contact information.

Key data: Metrobloks CEO Ernest Popescu (no phone/email published)

Limitation: metrobloks.com and /about-us returned no content on fetch.

Open source →

SURROUNDING INFRASTRUCTURE

Metrobloks: surrounding infrastructure

CORROBORATED

The site is a decades-vacant brownfield at 25th Street and Sherman Drive; a company-aligned listing notes it is less than 4.7 miles from the FD-IX Internet Exchange Point with ~0.21 ms latency and carrier-neutral connectivity.

Key data: FD-IX Internet Exchange <4.7 mi; 25th St & Sherman Dr

Limitation: Substation/transmission and sewer detail not published.

Open source →

ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE DEMOGRAPHIC

Metrobloks: environmental justice demographic

Incentive package under review

The Metrobloks site is the former Sherman Drive-In in Martindale Brightwood, a historically Black east-side Indianapolis neighborhood, and the EJ framing of the incentive debate turns on siting a ~$500 million, ~14-acre data center in that community.

Key data: Site: 2505 N. Sherman Drive, historically Black Martindale Brightwood; ~14 acres; ~$500M project

Status date: 2026-08

Limitation: Qualitative EJ characterization; no tract percentile or index score located

Open source →

COMMUNITY OPPOSITION OR LITIGATION

Metrobloks: community opposition or litigation

Hearing rescheduled; outcome not confirmed

The MDC hearing on the $56 million incentive package was postponed from August 5 to August 19, 2026 at the city's request so community commitments could be finalized. Residents said the company's commitments would not be enough to make an impact. The city's own Department of Metropolitan Development director, Megan Vukusich, opposed the package on July 15.

Key data: Hearing moved 2026-08-05 → 2026-08-19; DMD director opposed the package

Status date: 2026-08-19

Limitation: Final vote outcome not stated in any fetched source

Open source →

AGRICULTURAL OR LAND USE CONVERSION

Metrobloks: agricultural or land use conversion

Project approved 6-2 by MDC

This is infill redevelopment rather than farmland conversion: the ~14-acre site is the former Sherman Drive-In theater in an established urban neighborhood.

Key data: ~14 acres, former Sherman Drive-In (urban infill)

Status date: 2026-04-01

Limitation: Included to distinguish infill from greenfield conversion

Open source →

FISCAL IMPACT LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Metrobloks: fiscal impact local government

Pending MDC vote

Indianapolis Economic Development Inc. proposed a nearly $56 million package: $13.5 million in real property abatement over 10 years plus a $42 million equipment abatement (90% over 15 years) on roughly $406 million of equipment. A future tenant could save up to $339 million. The project is estimated to generate about $10 million per year in property tax, with a $2.5 million community pledge that could rise to $20 million.

Key data: $56M package ($13.5M real property/10 yr + $42M equipment at 90%/15 yr); ~$10M/yr projected property tax; up to $339M tenant savings

Status date: 2026-08-19

Limitation: Vote outcome unconfirmed; the $10M/yr revenue figure is a proponent projection

Open source →

Sources

Evidence and provenance

  • Mirror Indy · DISCOVERY LEAD
    Limitation: Company website content not extractable; CEO name spelled inconsistently across sources.
  • DataCenterDynamics · CORROBORATED
    Limitation: No tenant named.
  • WFYI · CORROBORATED
    Limitation: No contract ID or IURC cause number published.
  • Data Center Map / Mirror Indy · CORROBORATED
    Limitation: Substation/transmission and sewer detail not published.
  • Mirror Indy · CORROBORATED
    Limitation: Qualitative EJ characterization; no tract percentile or index score located
  • Weekly View (Indianapolis) · CORROBORATED
    Limitation: Final vote outcome not stated in any fetched source
  • Mirror Indy · CORROBORATED
    Limitation: Included to distinguish infill from greenfield conversion

Open IN state research →

Metrobloks Data Center Project | Marion County | Compute Equity Atlas