Compute Equity Atlas
← National map
Source-backed project record · NC

"Project Iron Spur"

This record consolidates 14 research observations while retaining source distinctions, location precision and unresolved fields.

unknownproject status
CORROBORATEDbest evidence tier
14linked evidence rows
Project facts

Location and operating record

Operator / developerOperator undisclosed
JurisdictionForsyth County (Rural Hall), NC
Address54 acres on Bethania-Rural Hall Road directly across from Rural Hall Town Hall, including farmland, two ponds, four houses and Beaver Dam Creek
Location precisionstreet address
CoordinatesNot published; no coordinate inferred
CapacityNot established
Aliases"Project Iron Spur" · "Project Iron Spur" (Case F-1669, denied)
Evidence coverage

What has been researched

Project profile10 rows
Intent / permits1 rows
Civic / infrastructure0 rows
EXACT LOCATION

"Project Iron Spur": exact location

CORROBORATED

The rezoning covered 128.54 acres on Bethania-Rural Hall Road directly across from Rural Hall Town Hall, including farmland, two ponds, four houses and Beaver Dam Creek; the applicant's own site described 144 acres.

Key data: 128.54 acres, Bethania-Rural Hall Road, across from Rural Hall Town Hall

Claim classification: Not yet assigned · Retrieved: 2026-08-29

Limitation: Acreage reported as 128.54 / ~129 / 130 / 144 depending on source; no parcel ID found.

Open source 1 →

OWNERSHIP CHAIN

"Project Iron Spur": ownership chain

CORROBORATED

Applicant was The Drox Group LLC (Charlotte-based); petitioners/landowners named in the case are private individuals and a family LLC.

Key data: Applicant The Drox Group LLC; owners Jennifer Jobe, James Martin Serber III, James Martin Serber Jr., Julia Wall, Wall Family of North Carolina LLC

Claim classification: Not yet assigned · Retrieved: 2026-08-29

Limitation: Drox Group's ultimate ownership/backers not identified; no end user disclosed.

Open source 1 →

OPERATOR

"Project Iron Spur": operator

DISCOVERY_LEAD

No operator or tenant was disclosed; Drox Group acted as developer and Montrose LLC handled entitlement.

Key data: Operator undisclosed

Claim classification: Not yet assigned · Retrieved: 2026-08-29

Limitation: Project denied 5-2 on 2026-07-30, so no operator was ever named.

Open source 1 →

POWER SUPPLIER

"Project Iron Spur": power supplier

CORROBORATED

Duke Energy infrastructure surrounds the site: an existing 230 kV substation and transmission adjoin it and a 150-foot-wide Duke Energy easement crosses the property north-south; a project substation was proposed.

Key data: Duke Energy; existing 230 kV substation adjacent; 150-ft Duke easement on site

Claim classification: Not yet assigned · Retrieved: 2026-08-29

Limitation: No MW figure, interconnection number, or large-load tariff docket published.

Open source 1 →

WATER SUPPLIER

"Project Iron Spur": water supplier

DISCOVERY_LEAD

The applicant cited the regional (Winston-Salem/Forsyth) system with ~91 MGD capacity, ~40 MGD used and ~51 MGD available; the zoning case required public water and sewer.

Key data: Regional water system: ~91 MGD capacity, ~51 MGD available

Claim classification: Not yet assigned · Retrieved: 2026-08-29

Limitation: Utility name not stated on the developer page; no service agreement reference.

Open source 1 →

JURISDICTION STACK

"Project Iron Spur": jurisdiction stack

CORROBORATED

Forsyth County Board of Commissioners had final authority (denied 5-2); the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Planning Board recommendation was advisory (7-2 denial); the land lies outside Rural Hall town limits, though annexation was possible.

Key data: Forsyth County BOC (final); WS/Forsyth County Planning Board (advisory); Town of Rural Hall (no vote)

Claim classification: Not yet assigned · Retrieved: 2026-08-29

Limitation: n.a.

Open source 1 →

PLANNING ZONING CONTACT

"Project Iron Spur": planning zoning contact

CORROBORATED

The Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Planning Board handled Case F-1669; a named staff planner authored the report and the planning director spoke publicly; the county commissioners' office phone is published by the applicant site.

Key data: Planner Rory Howard (staff report); Planning Director Chris Murphy; Forsyth County Commissioners' Office (336) 703-2020

Claim classification: Not yet assigned · Retrieved: 2026-08-29

Limitation: No direct planner email/phone published in fetched sources.

Open source 1 →

ECON DEV CONTACT

"Project Iron Spur": econ dev contact

CORROBORATED

Greater Winston-Salem Inc. is the relevant regional economic development body; its president and CEO commented publicly on data-center developer interest in Forsyth County.

Key data: Mark Owens, President & CEO, Greater Winston-Salem Inc.

Claim classification: Not yet assigned · Retrieved: 2026-08-29

Limitation: No direct email/phone; no evidence Greater Winston-Salem Inc. formally sponsored the project.

Open source 1 →

GENERAL CONTACT

"Project Iron Spur": general contact

VERIFIED_PRIMARY

The developer-aligned advocacy site published named entitlement contacts at Montrose LLC.

Key data: Michael Foess, PE, PMP — michael@themontroseteam.com, 704-828-6096; Aaron Sloan — asloan@themontroseteam.com

Claim classification: Not yet assigned · Retrieved: 2026-08-29

Limitation: These are developer-side contacts; no county PIO contact found for this case.

Open source 1 →

SURROUNDING INFRASTRUCTURE

"Project Iron Spur": surrounding infrastructure

CORROBORATED

Adjacent uses include active rail, a concrete plant, a mulching facility and dumpster services; an existing 230 kV substation sits immediately north with a separate 3.7-acre substation parcel.

Key data: Active rail line; 230 kV substation immediately north; 3.7-acre substation parcel

Claim classification: Not yet assigned · Retrieved: 2026-08-29

Limitation: Fiber routes not documented.

Open source 1 →

PUBLIC HEARING OR COUNCIL VOTE

"Project Iron Spur": public hearing or council vote

"Denied"

Key data: 128 acres

Claim classification: Not yet assigned · Retrieved: 2026-08-29

Status date: Hearing held July 30, 2026

Limitation: Could not reach a Forsyth County-hosted record of Case F1669 in this session; applicant name not stated in the fetched source.

Open source 1 →

COMMUNITY OPPOSITION OR LITIGATION

"Project Iron Spur": community opposition or litigation

Denied

Forsyth County commissioners denied the rezoning 5-2 on July 30, 2026, after the Planning Board recommended denial 7-2 on June 11 and more than 400 emails were submitted. The project would have placed three buildings totaling ~1,122,300 sq ft, 80–84 ft tall, on 128.54 acres of Rural Hall farmland; developer was The Drox Group LLC.

Key data: Denied 5-2 on 2026-07-30; >400 emails; 128.54 acres; ~1,122,300 sq ft

Claim classification: Not yet assigned · Retrieved: 2026-08-29

Status date: 2026-07-30

Limitation: Case file not fetched directly; corroborated by local outlets

AGRICULTURAL OR LAND USE CONVERSION

"Project Iron Spur": agricultural or land use conversion

Denied

The denial rested on inconsistency with the 2016 Rural Hall Area Plan Update and Forward 2045 comprehensive plan; the 128.54-acre site was active farmland.

Key data: 128.54 acres of farmland; denial grounded in comprehensive-plan inconsistency

Claim classification: Not yet assigned · Retrieved: 2026-08-29

Status date: 2026-07-30

Limitation: Plan documents themselves not fetched

NOISE OR TRAFFIC IMPACT

"Project Iron Spur": noise or traffic impact

Denied

Building height of 80–84 feet across three buildings (~1,122,300 sq ft) on 128.54 acres adjoining a residential/agricultural area was central to opposition; the community campaign site documents the scale objections that preceded denial.

Key data: 3 buildings, ~1,122,300 sq ft, 80–84 ft tall on 128.54 acres

Claim classification: Not yet assigned · Retrieved: 2026-08-29

Status date: 2026-07-30

Limitation: No decibel study or traffic-count figure found; scale metrics used as proxy

Sources

Evidence and provenance

Open NC state research →

"Project Iron Spur" Data Center Project | Forsyth County (Rural Hall) | Compute Equity Atlas