Compute Equity Atlas
← National map
North Carolina / NC

North Carolina data center and compute infrastructure map

Start with the state view and mapped project locations, then move into permits, planning, civic context, operators and source evidence. Only locations supported by explicit coordinates are plotted.

0mapped locations
91deep evidence rows
9validated refresh rows
Animated state view

North Carolina

True aspect · centered · uncropped
Evidence-backed project locations

North Carolina project points

Only records with explicit published coordinates are plotted here. Missing coordinates remain visible in the evidence sections rather than being guessed.

0 mapped locations
No project in this state currently has coordinates strong enough to plot. The state evidence below remains available while location proof is compiled.
ProjectsIntent signalsCivic impactProject profilesInfrastructureSources & gaps
Current development signals

Permits, filings, zoning and other activity

6 source-backed evidence rows are integrated on this page.

Energy Way Tech Campus data center, 198 Energy Way, Hamlet, NC 28345

Richmond County / Hamlet

Developer / operator: Amazon Data Services, Inc.

Status: "DAQ has issued" the permit; earlier stage was "preliminary determination that the application could be approved"

Permit / docket: Amazon.25A

Record type: Air quality permit (construction air permit for emergency backup engines)

Capacity / size: 588 emergency backup engines (MW and sq ft not stated)

VERIFIED PRIMARY

Limitation: Application ID "Amazon.25A" comes from the DEQ hearing notice; the Aug. 28 DEQ issuance release does not restate a permit number. Two DEQ URLs used for one row.

Open source →

Richmond County Turbines — temporary non-emergency "bridge power" engines at 1761 Airport Road, Hamlet, powering the Amazon data center until grid connection

Richmond County / Hamlet

Developer / operator: Duke Energy Progress, LLC

Status: "DAQ has issued" the permit

Permit / docket: DukeRichmond.26C

Record type: Air quality permit (air permit for improvements in support of the Amazon Data Center)

Capacity / size: 57 temporary non-emergency bridge-power engines; must be retired "within a year of starting operations"

VERIFIED PRIMARY

Limitation: Bridge-power is a utility-side signal tied to a single data-center customer; MW not stated.

Open source →

"Project Delta" data center — 0 US Highway 311 & Tuttle Road; 0 Off US 311 Highway; 1290 Coon Joyce Road; 1203 Tuttle Road (PINs 6973-76-7124, 6973-73-4188, 6964-91-8321, 6973-49-0574)

Stokes County / Walnut Cove

Developer / operator: DFC Stokes, LLC and DFC Stokes 2, LLC; petitioner Engineered Land Solutions, LLC

Status: "Conditional Rezoning Application submitted"; Planning Board to "review and consider recommendations" to the Board of Commissioners

Permit / docket: n.a.

Record type: Conditional Rezoning Application (R-A → M-2-CZ Heavy Manufacturing Conditional Zoning District)

Capacity / size: Approximately 1,848.741 acres

VERIFIED PRIMARY

Limitation: County notice carries no case number and the "Date" field is blank. This is a re-filed application; an earlier January 2026 rezoning approval for the same project was reported as later voided, which I did not confirm from a county record.

Open source →

Proposed data center campus near Rural Hall (referred to publicly as "Project Iron Spur")

Forsyth County / Rural Hall

Developer / operator: n.a.

Status: "Denied"

Permit / docket: Case F1669

Record type: Rezoning (contested)

Capacity / size: 128 acres

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Could not reach a Forsyth County-hosted record of Case F1669 in this session; applicant name not stated in the fetched source.

Open source →

Rezoning of land along U.S. 158 that "could be used to develop a data center"

Vance County / near Henderson (US 158)

Developer / operator: Natelli Investments

Status: "The Vance County Board of Commissioners voted on April 20 to approve the rezoning"; vote 6-1; "Natelli Investments has not confirmed the rezoning is for a data center project"

Permit / docket: n.a.

Record type: Rezoning

CORROBORATED

Limitation: No county case number or acreage in the fetched sources; data-center end use is not confirmed by the developer.

Open source →

Microsoft data center at the Person County megasite

Person County / Woodsdale Township

Developer / operator: Microsoft

Status: "Microsoft plans to begin the permitting process this year for a data center in Person County"; "Microsoft is in the early stages of development but has outlined several commitments"

Permit / docket: n.a.

Record type: Planned permitting process (type not specified)

Capacity / size: 1,385 acres

CORROBORATED

Limitation: No permit, docket, or county case record located in this session; MW not stated.

Open source →

Civic and infrastructure context

What the evidence says around these projects

34 source-backed evidence rows are integrated on this page.

ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE DEMOGRAPHIC

Energy Way Tech Campus (Amazon)

Richmond County (Hamlet / Dobbins Heights)

SELC's formal permit comments compile tract-level EJ statistics for the communities within 2–4 miles of the site. Dobbins Heights (~687 people, historically African American, <1 sq mi) sits within Census Tract 9710, flagged by the CDC Environmental Justice Index for high social vulnerability and elevated asthma. The tract containing Amazon's generators is 31.6% Black vs 20.29% statewide; nearly 1 in 8 residents is under age 5; low-income share is over twice the statewide rate.

Key data: Census Tract 9710 flagged high social vulnerability (CDC EJI); host tract 31.6% Black vs 20.29% statewide; Richmond County = Tier 1 (40 most distressed NC counties); 1 primary-care physician per 6,110 residents vs 1 per 1,410 statewide

DISCOVERY LEAD

Limitation: Advocacy filing, not an agency EJ screening; EPA EJScreen percentiles unobtainable (tool removed from EPA site Feb 5, 2025)

Open source →

ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE DEMOGRAPHIC

Energy Way Tech Campus (Amazon)

Richmond County

Independent reporting using census block-group data found 55–70% of residents in block groups abutting the property are people of color and about half are low income; NC DEQ data show cancer, heart disease, stroke and child mortality far above state average; Richmond County ranks last in NC for air/water quality, housing and physical environment.

Key data: 55–70% people of color in abutting block groups; ~50% low income; county ranks last in NC on physical environment (Univ. of Wisconsin Population Health Institute)

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Block-group percentages reported by journalists; underlying tabulation not published

Open source →

ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE DEMOGRAPHIC

DEQ "potentially disadvantaged" tract designation

Richmond County

The host census tract is designated "potentially disadvantaged" by NC DEQ and already "highly burdened" on the CDC Social Vulnerability Index, with Black and Indigenous populations above the state average. Amazon's own report concluded Richmond County falls "within the two least healthy ranges for the state."

Key data: Tract designated "potentially disadvantaged" (NC DEQ) and "highly burdened" (CDC SVI)

CORROBORATED

Limitation: No numeric SVI score published in the source

Open source →

ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE DEMOGRAPHIC

NC DEQ EJ Snapshot methodology (Enviva Hamlet precedent, same tracts)

Richmond County (Hamlet)

The only DEQ-authored EJ screening document located for these exact tracts is the 2018 Enviva Hamlet EJ Snapshot, which covers Census Tracts 9710 and 9711 — the same tracts hosting the Amazon campus. It documents Tract 9710 at 39.1% below poverty and Tract 9711 at 30.8%, vs 16.8% statewide, and Richmond County at 25.8%.

Key data: Tract 9710 poverty 39.1%; Tract 9711 30.8%; NC 16.8%; two-mile project area 21% Black, 2% American Indian

VERIFIED PRIMARY

Limitation: 2018 document using 2010 Census race data; radius centered on Enviva plant, not the Amazon site — proxy only

Open source →

ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE DEMOGRAPHIC

Richmond County poverty baseline

Richmond County

Census QuickFacts confirms countywide persistent poverty.

Key data: 22.6% of Richmond County residents in poverty

VERIFIED PRIMARY

Limitation: County-level only; no tract or percentile ranking

Open source →

WATER WITHDRAWAL VOLUME

Energy Way Tech Campus (Amazon)

Richmond County / Rockingham

Amazon states 100% of the campus's water comes from excess capacity in the Richmond County system and that water-based cooling is used less than 7% of the year. Rockingham City Council agreed in March to accept up to 400,000 gallons/day of wastewater from the Energy Way site for 40 years, doubling a 200,000-gal/day commitment made in 2023.

Key data: 400,000 gal/day wastewater acceptance, 40-year term; water cooling used <7% of year

VERIFIED PRIMARY

Limitation: Actual withdrawal volumes are confidential under the incentive agreement; wastewater figure is a capacity ceiling, not measured use

Open source →

WATER WITHDRAWAL VOLUME

Energy Way Tech Campus (Amazon) — confidentiality of water/energy data

Richmond County

Reporting on the incentive agreement confirms that energy and water usage figures were made confidential in the county's April 3, 2025 agreement, blocking public verification of withdrawal volumes.

Key data: Energy and water usage designated confidential in the incentive agreement

CORROBORATED

Limitation: This is a documented data gap, not a volume

Open source →

WATER WITHDRAWAL VOLUME

Project Delta

Stokes County (Walnut Cove)

At the approval hearing the developer's engineer stated the facility would use a closed-loop cooling system, would not draw from the Dan River, and would truck in or buy municipal water with in-facility reuse. The specific daily volume stated in the broadcast text is garbled and unusable.

Key data: Closed-loop cooling; no Dan River withdrawal; daily volume figure not recoverable

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Numeric daily water figure corrupted in the fetched page text; no permit-level withdrawal document located

Open source →

WATER WITHDRAWAL VOLUME

Microsoft Person County megasite

Person County (Woodsdale Twp)

Microsoft states the campus uses air-cooled chillers on a closed recirculating loop. Reporting on the megasite records an estimated 40,000 gal/day sewer discharge (~8% of a typical large data center's need), a Roxboro water plant rated 5 MGD (upgradable to 8 MGD), and a 3 MGD line to the Mega Park.

Key data: Est. 40,000 gal/day sewer discharge; Roxboro plant 5 MGD (upgradable to 8); 3 MGD line to Mega Park

VERIFIED PRIMARY

Limitation: Company-published; withdrawal permit volumes not disclosed and county records requests were denied under NDAs

Open source →

UTILITY INTERCONNECTION QUEUE

Duke Energy Progress bridge power + Duke large-load interconnection

Statewide / Richmond County

Duke is bridging Amazon's load with 57 temporary non-emergency engines at the Richmond County Combustion Turbine site until transmission is built; the permit requires retirement within one year of startup and the engines serve Amazon exclusively. Load is ~1.7 GW.

Key data: 57 temporary bridge-power engines, retire within 1 year of startup, exclusive to Amazon; ~1.7 GW load

VERIFIED PRIMARY

Limitation: Air-permit record, not an ISO interconnection queue position; Duke is not in an RTO queue for NC retail load

Open source →

UTILITY INTERCONNECTION QUEUE

Duke large load tariff, NCUC Docket E-100 Sub 190 / E-7 Sub 1329

Statewide

Duke's proposed large load tariff would apply at a 50 MW threshold with 10–15 year contract terms and a 75% minimum-take provision; a coalition including SELC sought a 25 MW threshold, 20-year terms, 85% minimum take and a separate rate class. Evidentiary hearing began July 7, 2026.

Key data: 50 MW threshold; 10–15 yr terms; 75% minimum take (Duke proposal)

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Docket page at NCUC not directly retrievable; docket tracked via third-party aggregator

Open source →

RATEPAYER OR GRID IMPACT

Duke/AWS Richmond County contract terms

Richmond County

EEI's national list of large-customer projects records the Duke Energy / AWS Richmond County campus at $10 billion and Duke's claim that each 1,000 MW data center will save existing customers almost $1 billion over the life of a 15-year contract, with a large load tariff proceeding stipulated in Duke's rate review.

Key data: Duke claim: ~$1B savings to existing customers per 1,000 MW over a 15-year contract; docket E-7 Sub 1329

VERIFIED PRIMARY

Limitation: Utility-reported savings claim compiled by an industry association; not independently verified

Open source →

Show all remaining 22 evidence rows
RATEPAYER OR GRID IMPACT

Duke rate request reduction

Statewide

Duke cut its residential rate increase request from 18% to 11.6% during the proceeding, alongside new requirements applying to data centers.

Key data: Residential ask reduced 18% → 11.6%

DISCOVERY LEAD

Limitation: Advocacy newsletter summarizing filings; underlying testimony not fetched

Open source →

COMMUNITY OPPOSITION OR LITIGATION

Energy Way / Duke air permits — community opposition

Richmond County

The July 30, 2026 DEQ hearing drew more than 150 attendees with roughly 75% of community comments opposed. Permits at issue were Amazon.25A and DukeRichmond.26C; commenters objected that DEQ split the project into two synthetic minor permits instead of one Title V major source, noting one permit sits at 249.9 tpy NOx/CO/VOC — just under the 250 tpy major-source threshold — across 649 diesel generators.

Key data: >150 hearing attendees; permit capped at 249.9 tpy vs 250 tpy major threshold; 649 diesel generators

DISCOVERY LEAD

Limitation: Attendee/percentage counts are the organizer's tally

Open source →

COMMUNITY OPPOSITION OR LITIGATION

Project Delta

Stokes County (Walnut Cove)

Walnut Cove residents and community groups, represented by the Southern Coalition for Social Justice and SELC, sued on March 12, 2026 over the January 12, 2026 rezoning of ~1,845–1,848 acres. The county then voided the rezoning and text amendment ab initio for defective statutory public-hearing notice. Commissioners nonetheless passed replacement text amendments 3-2 on July 14, 2026 and rejected a moratorium; the Planning Board again recommended denial 5-2 on August 13, 2026, with a final commissioner hearing set for September 8.

Key data: Lawsuit filed 2026-03-12; rezoning voided ab initio; Planning Board recommended denial 5-2 on 2026-08-13; commissioner hearing 2026-09-08

DISCOVERY LEAD

Limitation: Case number and court not stated in fetched sources

Open source →

COMMUNITY OPPOSITION OR LITIGATION

Project Delta — voiding resolution

Stokes County

The county's own resolution voids the rezoning and text amendment ab initio, confirming the procedural defect.

Key data: Resolution voiding rezoning and text amendment ab initio

DISCOVERY LEAD

Limitation: Copy hosted by plaintiffs' counsel rather than the county website

Open source →

COMMUNITY OPPOSITION OR LITIGATION

Project Iron Spur (Case F-1669)

Forsyth County (Rural Hall)

Forsyth County commissioners denied the rezoning 5-2 on July 30, 2026, after the Planning Board recommended denial 7-2 on June 11 and more than 400 emails were submitted. The project would have placed three buildings totaling ~1,122,300 sq ft, 80–84 ft tall, on 128.54 acres of Rural Hall farmland; developer was The Drox Group LLC.

Key data: Denied 5-2 on 2026-07-30; >400 emails; 128.54 acres; ~1,122,300 sq ft

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Case file not fetched directly; corroborated by local outlets

Open source →

COMMUNITY OPPOSITION OR LITIGATION

Natelli rezoning ZMA26-001

Vance County (near Henderson)

Commissioners approved the rezoning 6-1 on April 20, 2026 over resident objections. A citizen-compiled report documents that Natelli Holdings did not own the parcel (no recorded deeds), submitted no development plan, and gave no direct answer when residents asked whether a data center was planned.

Key data: Approved 6-1 on 2026-04-20; no development plan submitted; no recorded ownership

CORROBORATED

Limitation: The supporting report is citizen-compiled (henderson-vance.fyi), not an official county document

Open source →

COMMUNITY OPPOSITION OR LITIGATION

Microsoft megasite

Person County

Residents circulated a petition demanding answers from Microsoft, and reporting documents that nondisclosure agreements and public-records denials blocked disclosure of project terms.

Key data: Active resident petition; NDA-driven records denials

DISCOVERY LEAD

Limitation: No litigation identified; signature count not captured

Open source →

RATEPAYER OR GRID IMPACT

Duke large load tariff cost allocation

Stokes / Forsyth / Vance / Richmond

Advocates in the Stokes proceeding specifically sought rate-increase limits as a rezoning safeguard, tying local land-use conditions to ratepayer exposure — one of the discussed safeguards alongside Dan River protection and continuous air monitoring.

Key data: Safeguards discussed: rate-increase limits, Dan River protection, continuous air monitoring

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Safeguards were discussed, not adopted

Open source →

AGRICULTURAL OR LAND USE CONVERSION

Project Delta

Stokes County

The rezoning converted ~1,844.9–1,845 acres from Residential Agricultural (RA) to Heavy Manufacturing Conditional (M2CZ) — land previously designated for residential and agricultural use along the Dan River, adjacent to the Belews Creek coal plant. The accompanying text amendment also made data centers a permitted use in heavy manufacturing districts countywide, opening more than a dozen additional sites as-of-right without public hearing.

Key data: 1,844.9 acres RA → M2CZ; >12 additional sites opened as-of-right

DISCOVERY LEAD

Limitation: Acreage varies 1,844.9–1,848 across sources

Open source →

AGRICULTURAL OR LAND USE CONVERSION

Project Iron Spur

Forsyth County (Rural Hall)

The denial rested on inconsistency with the 2016 Rural Hall Area Plan Update and Forward 2045 comprehensive plan; the 128.54-acre site was active farmland.

Key data: 128.54 acres of farmland; denial grounded in comprehensive-plan inconsistency

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Plan documents themselves not fetched

Open source →

AGRICULTURAL OR LAND USE CONVERSION

Energy Way Tech Campus

Richmond County

The site combined a 646-acre county-owned forest and a moribund county chicken farm, sold together for $26 million and rezoned heavy industrial; Amazon clear-cut and burned the forested tract, with a neighbor reporting ash falling on his property.

Key data: 646-acre forest + chicken farm; $26M sale; rezoned heavy industrial

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Acreage of total assemblage varies across sources

Open source →

AGRICULTURAL OR LAND USE CONVERSION

Microsoft megasite

Person County (Woodsdale Twp)

The 1,350–1,385 acre site, purchased for $26.85–27 million in 2024, was previously fields, forest and creeks with roughly 400 acres of wetlands, leaving ~948 usable acres. It carried a 2018 megasite designation and was formerly known as "Project Trace." Country Club Road was permanently closed.

Key data: 1,385 acres; ~400 acres wetlands; ~948 usable acres; $26.85–27M (2024)

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Acreage and price ranges differ slightly between sources

Open source →

AGRICULTURAL OR LAND USE CONVERSION

Natelli rezoning assemblage

Vance County

Three contiguous parcels totaling ~113 acres were rezoned from Employment and Institutional Area to Light Industrial through Natelli filings: ZMA25-003 (33.22 ac) and ZMA25-004 (38.84 ac) approved December 16, 2025, plus ZMA26-001 (40.57 ac) approved April 20, 2026. Roughly 140 additional EIA acres held by neighboring families remain candidates for future rezoning.

Key data: ~113 acres EIA → Light Industrial across 3 parcels; ~140 more acres exposed

DISCOVERY LEAD

Limitation: Citizen-compiled report; parcel data traced to county tax/GIS records but not independently re-verified

Open source →

DECOMMISSIONING PROVISION

NOT_FOUND — DECOMMISSIONING_PROVISION

Statewide

Searched for decommissioning or site-restoration bonding requirements attached to the Richmond County Amazon agreement, the Stokes County Project Delta conditions, the Vance County rezoning, and the Person County megasite. None of the fetched approvals, ordinances, incentive agreements or hearing accounts contain a decommissioning plan, financial-assurance, bond or site-restoration requirement. Stokes County's approval record explicitly contains no decommissioning conditions; Vance County had no data center ordinance, water standards or noise standards at the time of rezoning; Randolph County's new rules address noise and impact studies but no decommissioning provision was found.

Key data: No decommissioning or financial-assurance requirement identified in any NC anchor project

DISCOVERY LEAD

Limitation: Absence of evidence in fetched sources; full ordinance texts for Randolph, Lee and Orange counties were not retrieved

Open source →

FISCAL IMPACT LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Energy Way Tech Campus incentives

Richmond County

The confidential April 3, 2025 agreement grants 50% ad valorem real-property and 65% personal-property cash grants for 20 years, conditioned on $1 billion capex and 50 full-time jobs by 2030. Amazon separately funds a $150,000 Community Fund. County parcels were sold for $26 million.

Key data: 50% real / 65% personal property cash grants for 20 years; thresholds $1B capex + 50 FTE by 2030; $150,000 community fund

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Agreement itself is confidential; terms reported via records reporting

Open source →

FISCAL IMPACT LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Project announcement and jobs

Richmond County

State officials announced a $10 billion Amazon investment in Richmond County.

Key data: $10 billion announced investment

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Announced capital figure, not audited or milestone-verified

Open source →

FISCAL IMPACT LOCAL GOVERNMENT

NOT_FOUND — FISCAL_IMPACT_LOCAL_GOVERNMENT for non-Richmond NC anchors

Stokes / Forsyth / Vance

Searched for tax abatements, PILOT agreements, community-benefit payments or revenue projections for Project Delta (Stokes), Project Iron Spur (Forsyth), the Natelli/Vance rezoning and the Microsoft Person County megasite. No incentive dollar values, abatement schedules or projected revenue figures were found in fetched sources. Person County records requests were denied under nondisclosure agreements; Stokes approvals were rezoning/text amendments with no fiscal terms in the record; Vance had no development plan filed.

Key data: No abatement, PILOT or revenue-projection figures located

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Confidentiality is the documented cause of the gap for Person County; Stokes/Forsyth/Vance fiscal terms may not yet exist

Open source →

NOISE OR TRAFFIC IMPACT

Project Iron Spur

Forsyth County (Rural Hall)

Building height of 80–84 feet across three buildings (~1,122,300 sq ft) on 128.54 acres adjoining a residential/agricultural area was central to opposition; the community campaign site documents the scale objections that preceded denial.

Key data: 3 buildings, ~1,122,300 sq ft, 80–84 ft tall on 128.54 acres

DISCOVERY LEAD

Limitation: No decibel study or traffic-count figure found; scale metrics used as proxy

Open source →

NOISE OR TRAFFIC IMPACT

County data center standards

Randolph County (statewide comparator)

Randolph County adopted data center restrictions on August 3, 2026 after a packed multi-hour hearing, including noise provisions and a 1,000-foot impact-study radius.

Key data: 1,000-foot impact-study radius; noise standards adopted

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Not an anchor project; included as the clearest NC local noise standard located. Decibel limit not stated in the source

Open source →

CUMULATIVE REGIONAL IMPACT

Energy Way / Duke bridge power

Richmond County

Two synthetic minor permits were issued instead of one Title V major source: Amazon's 588 emergency backup engines plus Duke's 57 non-emergency bridge engines (649 generators cited by commenters), each permit staying just below the 250 tpy major threshold. DEQ added emissions testing and monitoring after comments and evaluated acrolein. The nearest government air monitor is 30 miles away, and the surrounding area already hosts two rock quarries, an asphalt plant, a wood-pellet plant, a biochar operation, a poultry slaughterhouse, a gas plant, landfills, hazardous waste sites and a Superfund site ~5 miles west of Hamlet that discharged antifreeze/oil contaminants into Pee Dee River tributaries.

Key data: 588 + 57 = 645–649 engines across two synthetic minor permits; nearest air monitor 30 miles; Superfund site ~5 miles west

VERIFIED PRIMARY

Limitation: Cumulative pollution-source inventory comes from journalism, not an agency cumulative-impact assessment; no such assessment was located

Open source →

CUMULATIVE REGIONAL IMPACT

Moratoria and ordinance wave

Statewide

Multiple NC jurisdictions have adopted moratoria or standards in response to the wave of proposals: Edgecombe County (2-year), Jackson County (1-year, O2026-02), Cumberland County, Orange County, plus adopted standards in Lee and Randolph counties. Statewide, SB 730 — requiring closed-loop cooling, 15-year contracts for loads over 100 MW — passed the House 69-44.

Key data: SB 730 passed House 69-44; ≥4 county moratoria; ≥2 counties adopted standards

DISCOVERY LEAD

Limitation: Citizen tracker; individual moratorium ordinances were not each fetched

Open source →

ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE DEMOGRAPHIC

NOT_FOUND — live EJ percentile screening

Statewide

Attempted to obtain EJScreen-style percentile rankings for each NC site. EPA EJScreen was removed from EPA's website on February 5, 2025 and the mapper and ArcGIS endpoints no longer resolve. The NC DEQ Community Mapping System EJ Tool was located but returns an interactive map rather than fetchable tract percentiles.

Key data: No EJScreen percentile obtainable for any NC site

DISCOVERY LEAD

Limitation: Structural data loss affecting all four states in this report

Open source →

Project profile evidence

Operators, locations, power, water, capacity and other project facts

51 source-backed evidence rows are integrated on this page.

EXACT LOCATION

Energy Way Tech Campus / Amazon Data Services (Amazon.25A)

Richmond County (Hamlet)

NC DEQ's joint public-hearing notice lists the Amazon Data Services "Energy Way Tech Campus" facility address in Hamlet, Richmond County, alongside the Duke facility. Other trackers place the Amazon campus at 1761 Airport Road.

Key data: 198 Energy Way, Hamlet, NC 28345 (DEQ notice); 1761 Airport Road cited by tracker

VERIFIED PRIMARY

Limitation: DEQ notice and third-party tracker (datacenterally.com, 1761 Airport Road / 672 acres) disagree on which address belongs to Amazon vs. Duke; no parcel ID found.

Open source →

EXACT LOCATION

Energy Way Tech Campus / Amazon Data Services

Richmond County (Hamlet)

County and press accounts describe the site as county-owned land in the Energy Way Industrial Park off Airport Road, across from Duke's Smith Energy Complex; acreage reported as 646–800 acres.

Key data: Energy Way Industrial Park, Airport Road, Hamlet 28345; ~646 acres (ICN) / nearly 800 acres (county)

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Acreage figures vary by source (646, 672, ~700, ~800).

Open source →

OWNERSHIP CHAIN

Energy Way Tech Campus / Amazon Data Services

Richmond County (Hamlet)

Richmond County owned the tract (forest plus a former chicken farm) and sold the combined parcels for $26 million to a codenamed buyer, "Project Blue Marlin," with the tract subsequently held by Amazon; commissioners approved the ~700-acre sale in May.

Key data: County land sale $26M; buyer codename "Project Blue Marlin" → Amazon

CORROBORATED

Limitation: No deed instrument number or grantee LLC name located; sale details were subject to confidentiality.

Open source →

OPERATOR

Energy Way Tech Campus / Amazon Data Services

Richmond County (Hamlet)

Amazon Data Services plans to construct the data center and would operate its own 588 diesel-fired backup emergency engines; Duke would construct and operate the separate bridge-power engines.

Key data: Amazon Data Services (AWS) as operator of campus and 588 backup engines

VERIFIED PRIMARY

Limitation: n.a.

Open source →

POWER SUPPLIER

Energy Way Tech Campus / Amazon Data Services

Richmond County (Hamlet)

Duke Energy serves the site; Duke Energy Progress' Richmond County Combustion Turbine Facility applied to add 57 diesel engines as temporary "bridge power" until the campus connects to the grid, to be retired within one year of startup.

Key data: Duke Energy Progress, LLC; permit references Amazon.25A and DukeRichmond.26C

VERIFIED PRIMARY

Limitation: No interconnection agreement number or large-load contract/tariff docket number disclosed in fetched sources.

Open source →

WATER SUPPLIER

Energy Way Tech Campus / Amazon Data Services

Richmond County (Hamlet)

Richmond County's economic development site states Amazon will source 100% of its water from the county system's verified excess capacity; the county says its existing treatment plant has capacity without expansion, with Amazon funding distribution upgrades.

Key data: Richmond County water system (county-owned); Amazon-funded pump station and larger water lines

CORROBORATED

Limitation: No water service agreement number or contract text published; usage figures are treated as confidential per Inside Climate News.

Open source →

JURISDICTION STACK

Energy Way Tech Campus / Amazon Data Services

Richmond County (Hamlet)

Richmond County commissioners handled the land sale, rezoning to Heavy Industrial and incentives; NCDEQ Division of Air Quality issues the air permits under Environmental Management Commission rules; site is zoned Heavy Industrial under the 2022 county land use plan.

Key data: Richmond County Board of Commissioners; NCDEQ DAQ; NC Environmental Management Commission

VERIFIED PRIMARY

Limitation: City of Hamlet's role, if any, not documented in fetched sources (site is in unincorporated county).

Open source →

PLANNING ZONING CONTACT

Energy Way Tech Campus / Amazon Data Services

Richmond County (Hamlet)

NOT_FOUND. Searched Richmond County's Planning & Zoning department page and news coverage; the county Planning & Zoning page returned no extractable content on fetch and no named planner or case manager for the data center was published. Rezoning was handled by commissioners.

Key data: n.a.

DISCOVERY LEAD

Limitation: County web page did not render usable content through the fetch tool; a phone call/direct visit would be needed.

Open source →

ECON DEV CONTACT

Energy Way Tech Campus / Amazon Data Services

Richmond County (Hamlet)

Richmond County's announcement names its economic developer as the project media contact; WRAL and Richmond Observer identify the same official as the county's lead on the Amazon deal.

Key data: Martie Butler, Economic Developer, Richmond County Government; 910.997.8191; Martie.Butler@richmondnc.com

VERIFIED PRIMARY

Limitation: n.a.

Open source →

GENERAL CONTACT

Energy Way Tech Campus / Amazon Data Services

Richmond County (Hamlet)

Two channels are published: the state air-permit comment channel and a project administrator contact hosted on the county EDC's AWS page (construction manager Walbridge).

Key data: DEQ: daq.publiccomments@deq.nc.gov, 919-707-8726 (subject "Amazon.25A and DukeRichmond.26C"); Project Administrator Mary Wright (803) 230-0016, EnergyWayTechCampus@walbridge.com

VERIFIED PRIMARY

Limitation: Language-access line also published: 919-707-8446, Shawn.Taylor@deq.nc.gov.

Open source →

SURROUNDING INFRASTRUCTURE

Energy Way Tech Campus / Amazon Data Services

Richmond County (Hamlet)

The campus sits in Energy Way Industrial Park across Airport Road from Duke's Smith Energy Complex (five combustion turbines, 820 MW); a new transmission line is planned, with ~$35M for water/sewer and "tens of millions" for regional fiber.

Key data: Airport Road; Smith Energy Complex (820 MW); ~$35M water/sewer; regional fiber investment

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Transmission line route/voltage not published.

Open source →

EXACT LOCATION

Richmond County Turbines / Duke Energy Progress bridge power (DukeRichmond.26C)

Richmond County (Hamlet)

DEQ's hearing notice lists the Duke Energy Progress Richmond County Turbines facility address in Hamlet; the 57 bridge-power engines would be built on Amazon's property.

Key data: 1761 Airport Road, Hamlet, NC 28345 (DEQ notice); engines sited on Amazon property

VERIFIED PRIMARY

Limitation: Address assignment conflicts with older Duke permit documents that list 198 Energy Way for the turbine facility.

Open source →

Show all remaining 39 evidence rows
OWNERSHIP CHAIN / OPERATOR

Richmond County Turbines / Duke bridge power

Richmond County (Hamlet)

Duke Energy Progress, LLC is the permit applicant and would construct and operate the bridge-power engines, which sit on Amazon-owned land.

Key data: Duke Energy Progress, LLC (facility entity/operator)

VERIFIED PRIMARY

Limitation: Land ownership under the engines (Amazon) inferred from DEQ/ICN statements, not from a deed.

Open source →

POWER SUPPLIER / SURROUNDING INFRASTRUCTURE

Richmond County Turbines / Duke bridge power

Richmond County (Hamlet)

The existing Duke complex (Smith Energy Complex) has five combustion turbines at 820 MW; the bridge project adds 57 diesel engines described in trade press as ~1,600 MW of diesel generation for one year.

Key data: 57 diesel engines; ~1,600 MW temporary; existing 820 MW CT complex

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Trade article incorrectly locates Richmond County in Virginia; MW figure not confirmed in DEQ documents fetched.

Open source →

EXACT LOCATION

"Project Delta" (~1,848 acres)

Stokes County (Walnut Cove)

Stokes County's own rezoning notice lists four parcels totaling 1,848.741 acres with addresses and parcel identification numbers.

Key data: 0 US Hwy 311 & Tuttle Rd; 0 Off US 311 Hwy; 1290 Coon Joyce Rd; 1203 Tuttle Rd, Walnut Cove 27052 — PINs 6973-76-7124, 6973-73-4188, 6964-91-8321, 6973-49-0574

VERIFIED PRIMARY

Limitation: Acreage differs slightly across sources (1,800 / 1,844 / 1,848.741).

Open source →

OWNERSHIP CHAIN

"Project Delta"

Stokes County (Walnut Cove)

The 2026 conditional rezoning application was submitted by DFC Stokes, LLC and DFC Stokes 2, LLC with Engineered Land Solutions, LLC as petitioner; trade press reports the underlying land is owned by developer David Couch, CEO of Blue Ridge Companies.

Key data: Applicants: DFC Stokes, LLC; DFC Stokes 2, LLC; petitioner Engineered Land Solutions, LLC; landowner reported as David Couch (Blue Ridge Companies)

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Parent/ultimate owner of the DFC Stokes LLCs not identified in fetched sources; no Secretary of State record retrieved.

Open source →

OPERATOR

"Project Delta"

Stokes County (Walnut Cove)

No end operator or tenant has been disclosed; the project is fronted by Engineered Land Solutions, with Drew Nations identified as the person spearheading it.

Key data: Engineered Land Solutions (Drew Nations); end user undisclosed

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Hyperscaler tenant unknown.

Open source →

POWER SUPPLIER

"Project Delta"

Stokes County (Walnut Cove)

The site adjoins Duke Energy's 2.2 GW Belews Creek Power Station; the campus (several hundred MW) would be served by a new dedicated substation paid for by the developer, with on-site methane gas generators running until grid connection.

Key data: Duke Energy (grid); developer-funded dedicated substation; several hundred MW

CORROBORATED

Limitation: No interconnection queue number or NCUC docket reference found for this project.

Open source →

WATER SUPPLIER

"Project Delta"

Stokes County (Walnut Cove)

Reporting states the project intends to source water from the Dan River; an opposition handout states 50,000–100,000 gallons/day estimated use and notes Walnut Cove's wastewater system is not sized for it.

Key data: Dan River (surface withdrawal); 50,000–100,000 gal/day estimate

CORROBORATED

Limitation: No water service agreement or utility contract identified; a closed-loop design is also claimed by the developer.

Open source →

JURISDICTION STACK

"Project Delta"

Stokes County (Walnut Cove)

Stokes County Planning Board reviews and recommends; the Stokes County Board of Commissioners decides rezoning (its January 2026 approval was later voided); NC DEQ holds permitting authority and FEMA/NFIP floodplain standards apply; Town of Walnut Cove is adjacent.

Key data: Stokes County Planning Board + Board of Commissioners; NC DEQ; FEMA/NFIP floodplain

VERIFIED PRIMARY

Limitation: n.a.

Open source →

PLANNING ZONING CONTACT

"Project Delta"

Stokes County (Walnut Cove)

Authority sits with Stokes County Planning & Inspections (1014 Main Street, Danbury); the department page names the planning director and staff, and news coverage names the assistant county manager handling the new application.

Key data: Eric Nance, Planning Director, (336) 593-2408; dept. main (336) 593-2439, permits@co.stokes.nc.us; Bryan Miller, Assistant County Manager

VERIFIED PRIMARY

Limitation: No case-specific case manager published for the data center application.

Open source →

ECON DEV CONTACT

"Project Delta"

Stokes County (Walnut Cove)

NOT_FOUND. Searched county and news sources for an economic development authority contact tied to Project Delta; no EDC or named economic developer was identified in fetched sources — the project has moved purely through zoning and litigation channels.

Key data: n.a.

DISCOVERY LEAD

Limitation: Stokes County EDC presence not confirmed in fetched pages.

Open source →

GENERAL CONTACT

"Project Delta"

Stokes County (Walnut Cove)

The county accepts written public comment by email; the main civic-group contact for the campaign is also published.

Key data: PublicComments@co.stokes.nc.us; Clean Water for NC: erika@cwfnc.org

CORROBORATED

Limitation: No developer-side community-relations contact published.

Open source →

SURROUNDING INFRASTRUCTURE

"Project Delta"

Stokes County (Walnut Cove)

Site fronts US 311 at Tuttle Road along the Dan River, next to Duke's Belews Creek coal plant; the tract has very limited/no existing water and sewer service, and nearby solar farms and a power-generation facility are noted.

Key data: US 311 / Tuttle Road / Coon Joyce Road; Dan River; Belews Creek Power Station (2.2 GW)

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Fiber routes not documented.

Open source →

EXACT LOCATION

"Project Iron Spur" (Case F-1669, denied)

Forsyth County (Rural Hall)

The rezoning covered 128.54 acres on Bethania-Rural Hall Road directly across from Rural Hall Town Hall, including farmland, two ponds, four houses and Beaver Dam Creek; the applicant's own site described 144 acres.

Key data: 128.54 acres, Bethania-Rural Hall Road, across from Rural Hall Town Hall

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Acreage reported as 128.54 / ~129 / 130 / 144 depending on source; no parcel ID found.

Open source →

OWNERSHIP CHAIN

"Project Iron Spur"

Forsyth County (Rural Hall)

Applicant was The Drox Group LLC (Charlotte-based); petitioners/landowners named in the case are private individuals and a family LLC.

Key data: Applicant The Drox Group LLC; owners Jennifer Jobe, James Martin Serber III, James Martin Serber Jr., Julia Wall, Wall Family of North Carolina LLC

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Drox Group's ultimate ownership/backers not identified; no end user disclosed.

Open source →

OPERATOR

"Project Iron Spur"

Forsyth County (Rural Hall)

No operator or tenant was disclosed; Drox Group acted as developer and Montrose LLC handled entitlement.

Key data: Operator undisclosed

DISCOVERY LEAD

Limitation: Project denied 5-2 on 2026-07-30, so no operator was ever named.

Open source →

POWER SUPPLIER

"Project Iron Spur"

Forsyth County (Rural Hall)

Duke Energy infrastructure surrounds the site: an existing 230 kV substation and transmission adjoin it and a 150-foot-wide Duke Energy easement crosses the property north-south; a project substation was proposed.

Key data: Duke Energy; existing 230 kV substation adjacent; 150-ft Duke easement on site

CORROBORATED

Limitation: No MW figure, interconnection number, or large-load tariff docket published.

Open source →

WATER SUPPLIER

"Project Iron Spur"

Forsyth County (Rural Hall)

The applicant cited the regional (Winston-Salem/Forsyth) system with ~91 MGD capacity, ~40 MGD used and ~51 MGD available; the zoning case required public water and sewer.

Key data: Regional water system: ~91 MGD capacity, ~51 MGD available

DISCOVERY LEAD

Limitation: Utility name not stated on the developer page; no service agreement reference.

Open source →

JURISDICTION STACK

"Project Iron Spur"

Forsyth County (Rural Hall)

Forsyth County Board of Commissioners had final authority (denied 5-2); the Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Planning Board recommendation was advisory (7-2 denial); the land lies outside Rural Hall town limits, though annexation was possible.

Key data: Forsyth County BOC (final); WS/Forsyth County Planning Board (advisory); Town of Rural Hall (no vote)

CORROBORATED

Limitation: n.a.

Open source →

PLANNING ZONING CONTACT

"Project Iron Spur"

Forsyth County (Rural Hall)

The Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Planning Board handled Case F-1669; a named staff planner authored the report and the planning director spoke publicly; the county commissioners' office phone is published by the applicant site.

Key data: Planner Rory Howard (staff report); Planning Director Chris Murphy; Forsyth County Commissioners' Office (336) 703-2020

CORROBORATED

Limitation: No direct planner email/phone published in fetched sources.

Open source →

ECON DEV CONTACT

"Project Iron Spur"

Forsyth County (Rural Hall)

Greater Winston-Salem Inc. is the relevant regional economic development body; its president and CEO commented publicly on data-center developer interest in Forsyth County.

Key data: Mark Owens, President & CEO, Greater Winston-Salem Inc.

CORROBORATED

Limitation: No direct email/phone; no evidence Greater Winston-Salem Inc. formally sponsored the project.

Open source →

GENERAL CONTACT

"Project Iron Spur"

Forsyth County (Rural Hall)

The developer-aligned advocacy site published named entitlement contacts at Montrose LLC.

Key data: Michael Foess, PE, PMP — michael@themontroseteam.com, 704-828-6096; Aaron Sloan — asloan@themontroseteam.com

VERIFIED PRIMARY

Limitation: These are developer-side contacts; no county PIO contact found for this case.

Open source →

SURROUNDING INFRASTRUCTURE

"Project Iron Spur"

Forsyth County (Rural Hall)

Adjacent uses include active rail, a concrete plant, a mulching facility and dumpster services; an existing 230 kV substation sits immediately north with a separate 3.7-acre substation parcel.

Key data: Active rail line; 230 kV substation immediately north; 3.7-acre substation parcel

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Fiber routes not documented.

Open source →

EXACT LOCATION

Natelli rezoning near Henderson

Vance County (Henderson)

The approved rezoning (case ZMA26-001) covered roughly 113 acres across three parcels along US-158 Business between I-85 and Horseshoe Bend Road, opposite the Carolina Pines neighborhood; other reporting describes a 40-acre parcel between Pine Meadow Trail and Horseshoe Bend Road.

Key data: ~113 acres / 3 parcels, US-158 Business (Pine Meadow Trail to Horseshoe Bend Rd), Henderson 27537; case ZMA26-001

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Acreage conflicts (40 vs. 113 acres) between DataCenterDynamics and local sources; no parcel IDs published.

Open source →

OWNERSHIP CHAIN

Natelli rezoning near Henderson

Vance County (Henderson)

The applicant is tied to Natelli Investments / Natelli Holdings LLC (Maryland-based, linked to Natelli Communities); county records list individual applicants and an existing property owner.

Key data: Natelli Investments / Natelli Holdings LLC; applicants Michael Natelli and Beth Trahos; property owner Patricia Galloway

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Ownership detail comes from secondary reporting of county records, not a fetched deed; end user unknown.

Open source →

OPERATOR / POWER SUPPLIER

Natelli rezoning near Henderson

Vance County (Henderson)

NOT_FOUND. Searched rezoning coverage, community-research site and trackers: no operator/tenant and no named electric utility, substation, MW figure or interconnection reference has been published for this site.

Key data: n.a.

DISCOVERY LEAD

Limitation: Project is at speculative-rezoning stage; no permit application filings located.

Open source →

WATER SUPPLIER

Natelli rezoning near Henderson

Vance County (Henderson)

Coverage identifies the Kerr Lake regional water system as the supply that residents fear would be strained; no project-specific allocation or agreement was published.

Key data: Kerr Lake regional water system (named in coverage only)

DISCOVERY LEAD

Limitation: No water service agreement or allocation reference.

Open source →

JURISDICTION STACK / PLANNING ZONING CONTACT

Natelli rezoning near Henderson

Vance County (Henderson)

The Vance County planning board unanimously recommended approval in March 2026 and the Vance County Board of Commissioners approved rezoning 6-1 on April 20, 2026 (Employment & Institutional → Light Industrial); final plans require county permitting. No named planner or case manager was published.

Key data: Vance County Planning Board; Vance County Board of Commissioners (6-1, 2026-04-20); case ZMA26-001

CORROBORATED

Limitation: County planning-department page could not be fetched (HTTP client error), so no staff contacts were confirmed.

Open source →

ECON DEV CONTACT / GENERAL CONTACT

Natelli rezoning near Henderson

Vance County (Henderson)

NOT_FOUND. Searched for a Vance County / Henderson-Vance economic development contact and any general project contact; the Vance County EDC contact page was blocked by robots and no named person appeared in fetched coverage.

Key data: n.a.

DISCOVERY LEAD

Limitation: vancecountyed.com/contact/ fetch blocked (robots_failure).

Open source →

SURROUNDING INFRASTRUCTURE

Natelli rezoning near Henderson

Vance County (Henderson)

The tract fronts US-158 Business between I-85 and Horseshoe Bend Road within a larger 619-acre (potentially 685-acre) corridor including Triangle North; nearby schools and the Kerr Lake regional water system are the cited sensitive infrastructure.

Key data: US-158 Business; I-85; Triangle North corridor (619–685 acres)

CORROBORATED

Limitation: No substation, sewer trunk or fiber detail published.

Open source →

EXACT LOCATION

Microsoft Person County megasite (1,385 acres)

Person County (Woodsdale Twp / Roxboro)

The site is the former Person County Mega Park in Woodsdale Township on the NC-VA border, ~7 miles north of Roxboro; trackers list a State Road 1333 address, and reporting notes Country Club Road within the site closed on October 8. Roughly 400 acres are wetlands with ~948 acres usable.

Key data: Person County Mega Park, State Rd 1333, Roxboro 27574; 1,350–1,385 acres, Woodsdale Township

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Acreage reported as 1,350 or 1,385; parcel components include a 432.14-acre parcel per Baxtel; no county parcel IDs verified.

Open source →

OWNERSHIP CHAIN

Microsoft Person County megasite

Person County

Microsoft purchased the megasite (not previously county-owned) in late 2024 for a reported $26.85–27 million after ~18 months of negotiation.

Key data: Microsoft purchase, $26.85M–$27M (Nov/Oct 2024)

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Seller identity and deed book/page not found in fetched sources; no shell LLC named.

Open source →

OPERATOR

Microsoft Person County megasite

Person County

Microsoft is the purchaser and prospective operator of the campus; Baxtel attributes building ownership to Microsoft Azure. No third-party operator is identified.

Key data: Microsoft (Azure)

DISCOVERY LEAD

Limitation: Tracker-sourced; Microsoft has not published operating details.

Open source →

POWER SUPPLIER

Microsoft Person County megasite

Person County

Duke Energy serves the area; the site lies between Duke's Roxboro and Mayo plants, and the converted Person County Energy Complex/Roxboro units will total 2,720 MW feeding Duke's Carolinas grid. Trackers add Piedmont Electric and a 1,500 MW phase figure.

Key data: Duke Energy (Person County Energy Complex, 2,720 MW); Piedmont Electric noted by tracker; 230 kV lines

CORROBORATED

Limitation: No interconnection agreement number or NCUC large-load docket reference found for the Microsoft load.

Open source →

WATER SUPPLIER

Microsoft Person County megasite

Person County

The City of Roxboro controls the water and sewer infrastructure that would serve the site: plant capacity 5 MGD (upgradeable to 8 MGD), with a pre-existing line to the Mega Park able to deliver ~3 MGD.

Key data: City of Roxboro; 5 MGD plant (→8 MGD); ~3 MGD existing line

CORROBORATED

Limitation: No executed water service agreement number published; details were governed by NDAs.

Open source →

JURISDICTION STACK

Microsoft Person County megasite

Person County

Person County (Woodsdale Township) approved rezoning on August 5; the City of Roxboro controls water/sewer extension; the NC Board of Transportation had to approve the Country Club Road closure; NC DEQ would handle environmental permits.

Key data: Person County BOC + Planning Board; City of Roxboro; NC Board of Transportation

CORROBORATED

Limitation: n.a.

Open source →

PLANNING ZONING CONTACT

Microsoft Person County megasite

Person County

Person County Planning Director led the rezoning process; the planning board held the public hearing before commissioners approved.

Key data: Chris Bowley, Person County Planning Director

CORROBORATED

Limitation: No direct phone/email; county planning page fetch blocked (bad_robots_code).

Open source →

ECON DEV CONTACT

Microsoft Person County megasite

Person County

Person County Economic Development served as liaison with Microsoft: the economic development director and the economic development chair are both named publicly.

Key data: Brandy Lynch, Person County Economic Development Director; Scott McKinney, Economic Development Chair

CORROBORATED

Limitation: No published email/phone; county EDC page fetch blocked.

Open source →

GENERAL CONTACT

Microsoft Person County megasite

Person County

The county's official announcement routes datacenter media inquiries to Microsoft's global datacenter PR mailbox; a Microsoft spokesperson is also named in press coverage.

Key data: GlobalDCPR@microsoft.com; spokesperson Annette Hamilton

VERIFIED PRIMARY

Limitation: No county permitting phone line published on that page.

Open source →

SURROUNDING INFRASTRUCTURE

Microsoft Person County megasite

Person County

The site sits between Duke's Roxboro and Mayo plants with 230 kV transmission lines, an existing water/sewer line and sewer lift station, and a planned electrical substation.

Key data: 230 kV lines; water/sewer line + lift station; planned substation

CORROBORATED

Limitation: Fiber routes not documented.

Open source →

North Carolina project / topic roster

Research currently compiled for North Carolina

44 project/topic labels are retained here, including unresolved aliases that still require canonical reconciliation.

Project or topicEvidence state
"Project Delta"Source-backed / reconciliation-aware
"Project Delta" (~1,848 acres)Source-backed / reconciliation-aware
"Project Delta" data center — 0 US Highway 311 & Tuttle Road; 0 Off US 311 Highway; 1290 Coon Joyce Road; 1203 Tuttle Road (PINs 6973-76-7124, 6973-73-4188, 6964-91-8321, 6973-49-0574)Source-backed / reconciliation-aware
"Project Iron Spur"Source-backed / reconciliation-aware
"Project Iron Spur" (Case F-1669, denied)Source-backed / reconciliation-aware
County data center standardsSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
DEQ "potentially disadvantaged" tract designationSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
Duke Energy Progress bridge power + Duke large-load interconnectionSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
Duke large load tariff cost allocationSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
Duke large load tariff, NCUC Docket E-100 Sub 190 / E-7 Sub 1329Source-backed / reconciliation-aware
Duke rate request reductionSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
Duke/AWS Richmond County contract termsSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
Energy Way / Duke air permits — community oppositionSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
Energy Way / Duke bridge powerSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
Energy Way Tech CampusSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
Energy Way Tech Campus (Amazon)Source-backed / reconciliation-aware
Energy Way Tech Campus (Amazon) — confidentiality of water/energy dataSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
Energy Way Tech Campus / Amazon Data ServicesSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
Energy Way Tech Campus / Amazon Data Services (Amazon.25A)Source-backed / reconciliation-aware
Energy Way Tech Campus data center, 198 Energy Way, Hamlet, NC 28345Source-backed / reconciliation-aware
Energy Way Tech Campus incentivesSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
Microsoft Person County megasiteSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
Microsoft Person County megasite (1,385 acres)Source-backed / reconciliation-aware
Microsoft data center at the Person County megasiteSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
Microsoft megasiteSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
Moratoria and ordinance waveSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
NC DEQ EJ Snapshot methodology (Enviva Hamlet precedent, same tracts)Source-backed / reconciliation-aware
NOT_FOUND — DECOMMISSIONING_PROVISIONSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
NOT_FOUND — FISCAL_IMPACT_LOCAL_GOVERNMENT for non-Richmond NC anchorsSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
NOT_FOUND — live EJ percentile screeningSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
Natelli rezoning ZMA26-001Source-backed / reconciliation-aware
Natelli rezoning assemblageSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
Natelli rezoning near HendersonSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
Project DeltaSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
Project Delta — voiding resolutionSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
Project Iron SpurSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
Project Iron Spur (Case F-1669)Source-backed / reconciliation-aware
Project announcement and jobsSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
Proposed data center campus near Rural Hall (referred to publicly as "Project Iron Spur")Source-backed / reconciliation-aware
Rezoning of land along U.S. 158 that "could be used to develop a data center"Source-backed / reconciliation-aware
Richmond County Turbines / Duke Energy Progress bridge power (DukeRichmond.26C)Source-backed / reconciliation-aware
Richmond County Turbines / Duke bridge powerSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
Richmond County Turbines — temporary non-emergency "bridge power" engines at 1761 Airport Road, Hamlet, powering the Amazon data center until grid connectionSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
Richmond County poverty baselineSource-backed / reconciliation-aware
Research and local discovery

Find data center projects and the public records around them in North Carolina.

This state page combines mapped locations with permits, planning and zoning activity, infrastructure context, operators and civic records. The deeper corpus is supplemented by 9 accepted rows from the validated national refresh. Counts describe evidence records, not unique facilities.

Where a source does not establish a location, utility, water supplier or other fact, that gap remains explicit rather than being converted into an unsupported map point or claim.

See the evidence and publication methodology →

North Carolina Data Centers, Projects & Compute Infrastructure Research | Compute Equity Atlas