Compute Equity Atlas
← National map
Source-backed project record · GA

QTS Fayetteville I

This record consolidates 8 research observations while retaining source distinctions, location precision and unresolved fields.

unknownproject status
VERIFIED_PRIMARYbest evidence tier
8linked evidence rows
Project facts

Location and operating record

Operator / developerQTS Realty Trust, LLC; QTS Data Centers as operator
JurisdictionFayette County / Fayetteville, GA
AddressNot published
Location precisionparcel or bounded site
CoordinatesNot published; no coordinate inferred
CapacityNot established
AliasesQTS Fayetteville I
Evidence coverage

What has been researched

Project profile5 rows
Intent / permits1 rows
Civic / infrastructure0 rows
EXACT LOCATION

QTS Fayetteville I: exact location

CORROBORATED

Industry directory and news coverage together give the address and site scale

Key data: 1435 Hwy 54 W, Fayetteville, GA 30214; described in reporting as a 600-acre site 22 miles south of downtown Atlanta

Claim classification: Not yet assigned · Retrieved: 2026-08-29

Limitation: Parcel ID and lat-long not published; the 600-acre figure comes from https://www.wrdw.com/2026/07/13/records-raise-questions-about-georgias-largest-data-center-its-water-use/

Open source 1 →

OWNERSHIP CHAIN and OPERATOR

QTS Fayetteville I: ownership chain and operator

VERIFIED_PRIMARY

QTS is identified as owner and operator, with the entity name given on its community page

Key data: QTS Realty Trust, LLC; QTS Data Centers as operator

Claim classification: Not yet assigned · Retrieved: 2026-08-29

Limitation: Blackstone's ownership of QTS was not stated on any page fetched, so it is not asserted here

Open source 1 →

WATER SUPPLIER

QTS Fayetteville I: water supplier

CORROBORATED

The county water system is the sole supplier, with closed-loop cooling and no private wells, and county billing records document the volumes

Key data: Fayette County Water System with no groundwater or private wells and closed-loop cooling; county billed QTS for 109 million gallons across 13 water lines, with one line billed for 20.6 million gallons; county says QTS uses less than one percent of monthly supply

Claim classification: Not yet assigned · Retrieved: 2026-08-29

Limitation: Reporting also describes two unauthorized water lines into the facility; no water service agreement number is published

Open source 1 →

JURISDICTION STACK

QTS Fayetteville I: jurisdiction stack

VERIFIED_PRIMARY

Stack includes the City of Fayetteville with a local operating ordinance, Fayette County for water, and state DNR/EPD for air

Key data: City quiet-hours ordinance from 10 PM to 7 AM; Fayette County Water System

Claim classification: Not yet assigned · Retrieved: 2026-08-29

Limitation: No special district, development authority or school district identified

Open source 1 →

SURROUNDING INFRASTRUCTURE

QTS Fayetteville I: surrounding infrastructure

CORROBORATED

Water infrastructure serving the site is documented in county records as a growing set of service lines; the site fronts Highway 54

Key data: 13 water lines serving the site as it expands; frontage on Hwy 54 W

Claim classification: Not yet assigned · Retrieved: 2026-08-29

Limitation: Substations, transmission lines, sewer trunk mains, rail and fiber not identified

Open source 1 →

AIR PERMIT APPLICATION

QTS Fayetteville I: air permit application

"presently under review"

Key data: n.a. (generator count not specified)

Claim classification: Not yet assigned · Retrieved: 2026-08-29

Status date: Comment deadline February 27, 2026

Limitation: Expansion of an existing site (a draft permit 7374-113-0073-S-01-0 for QTS Fayetteville I appears on EPD's site but was not fetched in full).

Open source 1 →

WATER WITHDRAWAL VOLUME

QTS Fayetteville I: water withdrawal volume

Contested billing; construction ongoing to 2030

The most concrete Georgia water record found. County billing records show QTS's Fayetteville site went from one water line (Feb 2024, 20.6 million gallons billed) to **13 water lines totaling 109 million gallons billed** — at least the equivalent of 11 Georgia Aquariums. An internal county letter said two additional lines were "installed without the knowledge or inspection by (county) staff"; the county billed QTS **$147,000** and blamed a smart-meter migration for the gap. QTS says operational domestic use will be only ~**9,000–12,000 gallons per month** per building (≈4 households) once closed-loop cooling is complete in **2030**, and that the site uses <1% of county water production. An advocacy account of the same records puts three meters at ~**40.7 million gallons** unknown/unapproved, a **$225,385** retroactive bill, and QTS's COO citing a **174,000 gal/day** average — versus a public claim of "2,000 gallons a day" for the whole campus.

Key data: 13 lines / 109 million gallons billed; $147,000 bill; 600-acre site; ~9,000–12,000 gal/month operational

Claim classification: Not yet assigned · Retrieved: 2026-08-29

Status date: 2026-07-13

Limitation: The two accounts give different meter totals and bill amounts ($147,000 vs $225,385) — likely different meter subsets or billing rounds; underlying county records were not fetched. (confidence detail: CORROBORATED (WRDW) / DISCOVERY_LEAD (Substack))

AGRICULTURAL OR LAND USE CONVERSION

QTS Fayetteville I: agricultural or land use conversion

Built/under construction

Reported conversion of rural land: the Fayette County Development Authority brokered the sale of **615 acres of forest and pastureland** to QTS in 2022 (the site is described elsewhere as 600 acres). No agricultural-impact mitigation agreement is referenced.

Key data: 615 acres of forest and pastureland converted (2022)

Claim classification: Not yet assigned · Retrieved: 2026-08-29

Status date: 2026

Limitation: Advocacy source; acreage differs from the 600-acre figure in WRDW's reporting.

Sources

Evidence and provenance

  • Data Center Map ↗ · Retrieved 2026-08-29 · CORROBORATED
    Limitation: Parcel ID and lat-long not published; the 600-acre figure comes from https://www.wrdw.com/2026/07/13/records-raise-questions-about-georgias-largest-data-center-its-water-use/
  • QTS Data Centers ↗ · Retrieved 2026-08-29 · VERIFIED PRIMARY
    Limitation: Blackstone's ownership of QTS was not stated on any page fetched, so it is not asserted here
  • WRDW ↗ · Retrieved 2026-08-29 · CORROBORATED
    Limitation: Reporting also describes two unauthorized water lines into the facility; no water service agreement number is published
  • Georgia EPD, Air Protection Branch ↗ · Retrieved 2026-08-29 · VERIFIED PRIMARY
    Limitation: Expansion of an existing site (a draft permit 7374-113-0073-S-01-0 for QTS Fayetteville I appears on EPD's site but was not fetched in full).

Open GA state research →

QTS Fayetteville I Data Center Project | Fayette County / Fayetteville | Compute Equity Atlas