Compute Equity Atlas
← National map
Source-backed project record · VA

Stafford Technology Campus

This canonical record consolidates 9 source-backed observations without discarding aliases, limitations or unresolved dimensions.

approved_or_permittedproject status
VERIFIED_PRIMARYbest evidence tier
9linked evidence rows
Project facts

Location and operating record

Operator / developer500 acres, 19 data centers, six 300 MW substations with Dominion Energy
JurisdictionStafford County, VA
Address1318 Richmond Highway
Location precisionexact coordinate
Coordinates38.388405, -77.425135
Capacity300 MW
AliasesStafford Technology Campus · Stafford Technology Campus (SI NVA07Campus)
Evidence coverage

What has been researched

Project profile5 rows
Intent / permits1 rows
Civic / infrastructure3 rows
EXACT LOCATION and OWNERSHIP CHAIN

Stafford Technology Campus: exact location and ownership chain

VERIFIED_PRIMARY

The federal permit public notice gives the applicant's full corporate address, the campus boundaries, acreage and coordinates

Key data: SI NVA07CAMPUS, LLC, 1700 Broadway Suite 1750, Denver CO 80290; approximately 537 acres on the east line of Route 1, east and west of Eskimo Hill Road, north of Potomac Creek; latitude 38.388405, longitude -77.425135

Limitation: Parcel IDs not listed in the notice; the Denver address matches STACK Infrastructure's corporate base, and STACK confirms the project separately

Open source →

OPERATOR and POWER SUPPLIER

Stafford Technology Campus: operator and power supplier

VERIFIED_PRIMARY

STACK Infrastructure announced the campus with a six-substation build with the incumbent utility

Key data: 500 acres, 19 data centers, six 300 MW substations with Dominion Energy

Limitation: Acreage differs between the USACE notice (537 acres) and STACK's release (500 acres); no interconnection case number published

Open source →

WATER SUPPLIER

Stafford Technology Campus: water supplier

VERIFIED_PRIMARY

The campus is designed around reclaimed water rather than potable supply, and the developer states it removes a county capital project cost

Key data: Reclaimed "purple pipe" water; eliminates $58 million from the county capital improvement plan

Limitation: The county utility department and any executed water agreement are not named

Open source →

JURISDICTION STACK and PLANNING ZONING CONTACT

Stafford Technology Campus: jurisdiction stack and planning zoning contact

VERIFIED_PRIMARY

Regulatory stack spans the federal Corps permit and the state environmental review office, each with a named contact

Key data: USACE contact Silvia B. Gazzera, silvia.b.gazzera@usace.army.mil; Virginia DEQ Office of Environmental Impact Review, (804) 659-1915, bettina.rayfield@deq.virginia.gov; USACE file NAO-2022-02671

Limitation: These are federal and state reviewers, not the Stafford County planning case manager, which was not found

Open source →

GENERAL CONTACT

Stafford Technology Campus: general contact

VERIFIED_PRIMARY

STACK publishes a single press contact channel for the project

Key data: press@stackinfra.com, attention Sammer Khalaf

Limitation: Media contact rather than a community relations line

Open source →

WATER OR WASTEWATER PERMIT

Stafford Technology Campus: water or wastewater permit

"DEQ's tentative decision is to issue the permit"; public comment period open

Key data: ~537-acre project site; 21 data center buildings; 6 substations; impacts 2.25 acres of wetlands and 4,918 linear feet of stream

Status date: Public comment period 05/20/2026 – 06/19/2026

Limitation: Final permit issuance not confirmed. MW capacity not stated. "SI NVA…" naming matches STACK Infrastructure entities elsewhere on the DEQ data-center permit list, but that link was not confirmed from a fetched source.

Open source →

WATER WITHDRAWAL VOLUME

Stafford Technology Campus: water withdrawal volume

Agreement in place

Stafford County's water service agreement for STACK Infrastructure at the Stafford Technology Campus allocates a maximum of **3,600 gallons per minute ≈ 5 million gallons per day** for data-center cooling. Delivery amounts in these agreements were initially redacted as claimed trade secrets.

Key data: 3,600 gpm ≈ 5 MGD maximum

Status date: 2026 (reporting)

Limitation: Journalist's reading of obtained agreements; the agreement document itself was not fetched.

Open source →

COMMUNITY OPPOSITION OR LITIGATION

Stafford Technology Campus: community opposition or litigation

Adopted

Rules tightened, then five projects grandfathered: after adopting stricter standards on Oct 21 (setback from adjacent homes/schools/rivers raised from **100 ft to 750 ft**), supervisors voted **unanimously** on Dec 2, 2025 to grandfather five projects — Stafford Technology Campus, Potomac Church Tech Center, Centreport Gateway/Pemberton, **Vantage VA-4 (Melrod)**, and Cranes Corner — preserving pre-Oct 21 rules. The Planning Commission recommended grandfathering 6-1 (Commissioner Laura Sellers dissenting). Supervisors also unanimously asked Dominion to bury the 70-mile, 500-kV Kraken Loop line.

Key data: Setback 100 ft → 750 ft; 5 projects grandfathered; PC recommendation 6-1

Status date: 2025-12-02

Limitation: Names "Vantage VA-4 (Melrod)"; the anchor list's "VA41" is the permitted entity name (Vantage Data Centers VA41 LLC). No litigation found for Stafford projects.

Open source →

AGRICULTURAL OR LAND USE CONVERSION

Stafford Technology Campus: agricultural or land use conversion

Rezoned; §404 permit under review

Direct agricultural conversion: supervisors voted **6-1** in September 2024 to rezone **504 acres** on both sides of Eskimo Hill Road from **agricultural** to allow the county's largest data-center project (23 data centers reported). The DEQ/Corps public notice describes a ~**537-acre** development for a ~4.5 million sq ft campus with **21 data center buildings and 6 substations** under Clean Water Act §404, project no. 26-013F, comment period Jan 26–Feb 20, 2026. No agricultural mitigation requirement is referenced.

Key data: 504 acres rezoned from agricultural, 6-1 vote; 537-acre §404 project 26-013F; 21 buildings + 6 substations

Status date: 2026-02-20 (comment close)

Limitation: Virginia has no agricultural-impact mitigation agreement program comparable to Illinois'; none found. The rezoning article was read as a search result. (confidence detail: VERIFIED_PRIMARY (DEQ) + CORROBORATED (vote))

Open source →

Sources

Evidence and provenance

  • U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Norfolk District · VERIFIED PRIMARY
    Limitation: Parcel IDs not listed in the notice; the Denver address matches STACK Infrastructure's corporate base, and STACK confirms the project separately
  • STACK Infrastructure · VERIFIED PRIMARY
    Limitation: Acreage differs between the USACE notice (537 acres) and STACK's release (500 acres); no interconnection case number published
  • Virginia DEQ (Northern Regional Office public notice) · VERIFIED PRIMARY
    Limitation: Final permit issuance not confirmed. MW capacity not stated. "SI NVA…" naming matches STACK Infrastructure entities elsewhere on the DEQ data-center permit list, but that link was not confirmed from a fetched source.
  • Fredericksburg Advance · CORROBORATED
    Limitation: Journalist's reading of obtained agreements; the agreement document itself was not fetched.
  • Fredericksburg Free Press · CORROBORATED
    Limitation: Names "Vantage VA-4 (Melrod)"; the anchor list's "VA41" is the permitted entity name (Vantage Data Centers VA41 LLC). No litigation found for Stafford projects.
  • Virginia DEQ; Fredericksburg Free Press · VERIFIED PRIMARY
    Limitation: Virginia has no agricultural-impact mitigation agreement program comparable to Illinois'; none found. The rezoning article was read as a search result. (confidence detail: VERIFIED_PRIMARY (DEQ) + CORROBORATED (vote))

Open VA state research →

Stafford Technology Campus Data Center Project | Stafford County | Compute Equity Atlas