Compute Equity Atlas
← National map
Source-backed project record · GA

The Keep 2 Campus (Switch KEEP 2.0 Atlanta North)

This canonical record consolidates 8 source-backed observations without discarding aliases, limitations or unresolved dimensions.

approved_or_permittedproject status
VERIFIED_PRIMARYbest evidence tier
8linked evidence rows
Project facts

Location and operating record

Operator / developerDeveloper Switch, LTD; Switch is based in Las Vegas and was founded in 2000
JurisdictionBartow County / Cartersville, GA
Address126 acres south of the intersection of Old Alabama Road and Bates Road, stretching to the Paulding County line, due west of LakePoint and adjoining the Carters Grove area
Location precisionstreet address
Coordinatesnull, null
Capacity1300 MW
AliasesThe Keep 2 Campus (Switch KEEP 2.0 Atlanta North) · The Keep 2 Campus (Switch)
Evidence coverage

What has been researched

Project profile6 rows
Intent / permits0 rows
Civic / infrastructure2 rows
EXACT LOCATION

The Keep 2 Campus (Switch KEEP 2.0 Atlanta North): exact location

CORROBORATED

Both the public record and the local development authority describe the site by intersection, acreage and adjacency rather than a street address

Key data: 126 acres south of the intersection of Old Alabama Road and Bates Road, stretching to the Paulding County line, due west of LakePoint and adjoining the Carters Grove area; public record describes the site as within the City of Cartersville

Limitation: No street address, parcel ID or lat-long published by either source

Open source →

OWNERSHIP CHAIN and OPERATOR

The Keep 2 Campus (Switch KEEP 2.0 Atlanta North): ownership chain and operator

CORROBORATED

The developer of record is Switch, and the company's base is stated, but no local land-holding entity is named

Key data: Developer Switch, LTD; Switch is based in Las Vegas and was founded in 2000

Limitation: Legal owner and applicant entity are not stated in the record

Open source →

POWER SUPPLIER and SURROUNDING INFRASTRUCTURE

The Keep 2 Campus (Switch KEEP 2.0 Atlanta North): power supplier and surrounding infrastructure

CORROBORATED

The public record names the municipal utility as the electric provider, and the project includes its own substation

Key data: Cartersville Municipal Utilities as electric utility and grid operator; the initial data center phase is planned with an electrical substation

Limitation: No contract, transmission voltage, water main, rail or fiber detail; the substation reference is from the Cartersville-Bartow economic development article

Open source →

WATER SUPPLIER

The Keep 2 Campus (Switch KEEP 2.0 Atlanta North): water supplier

VERIFIED_PRIMARY

The city water department is the utility for the Cartersville site, drawing from a named reservoir with a named treatment plant

Key data: City of Cartersville Water Department; source Lake Allatoona; Clarence B. Walker Water Treatment Plant; 237 miles of distribution lines and more than 170 miles of sewer lines; wastewater discharged to the Etowah River

Limitation: Utility attribution is by jurisdiction; no Switch-specific water service agreement was located

Open source →

JURISDICTION STACK and ECON DEV CONTACT

The Keep 2 Campus (Switch KEEP 2.0 Atlanta North): jurisdiction stack and econ dev contact

VERIFIED_PRIMARY

The project filed a development of regional impact statement with the state, and the local economic development office publishes its address, main line and named staff

Key data: Development of regional impact statement filed with the state; Cartersville-Bartow County Economic Development, P.O. Box 2224, Cartersville, GA 30120, 770.607.1199; named contacts Melinda Lemmon 404-218-2180, Matthew Thomas 678-899-2484, Connor Nicholson 678-956-3220

Limitation: Staff titles are not stated on the page, and email addresses were rendered only through JavaScript; the reviewing state agency for the DRI is not named

Open source →

PLANNING ZONING CONTACT

The Keep 2 Campus (Switch KEEP 2.0 Atlanta North): planning zoning contact

DISCOVERY_LEAD

NOT_FOUND — neither the public record nor the economic development article names a planning or zoning department, commission, case number or planner for this site

Limitation: City of Cartersville planning department pages were not fetched this session

Open source →

WATER WITHDRAWAL VOLUME

The Keep 2 Campus (Switch KEEP 2.0 Atlanta North): water withdrawal volume

Ordinance in effect

Bartow County's official policy statement gives design-class figures rather than a project volume: an open-loop evaporative facility in the 100 MW class may consume ~**500,000 gallons per day**, while closed-loop/air-cooled designs can cut consumption by **as much as 95%**. Standards adopted **July 1, 2026** require every data center to use closed-loop or functionally equivalent cooling and prohibit open-loop, once-through, and continuously evaporative cooling. Switch (City of Cartersville) is served by the Bartow County Water System and initially asked about evaporative cooling for future phases before saying customers prefer closed-loop.

Key data: ~500,000 gal/d per 100 MW open-loop class; closed-loop mandate effective 2026-07-01; project volume n.a.

Status date: 2026-07-01

Limitation: No Switch-specific gallons figure disclosed.

Open source →

FISCAL IMPACT LOCAL GOVERNMENT

The Keep 2 Campus (Switch KEEP 2.0 Atlanta North): fiscal impact local government

Policy in effect

A rare explicit "no incentive" record: Bartow County states it has **granted no tax abatements** for these facilities and entered **no reduction, exemption, or PILOT arrangement** that would reduce taxes owed. Cost context published by the county: **$12–15 million per MW** for buildings/infrastructure plus **$10–40 million per MW** for equipment, with a co-located Digital Realty campus at ~1.3 GW implying ~**$18 billion** build-out over 10 years. Economic-development materials estimate Switch's $772 million campus at ~**$15 million** in annual tax contributions.

Key data: No abatements/PILOTs granted; $12–15M/MW build cost; ~$15M/yr estimated tax contribution (Switch)

Status date: 2026-08 (policy statement)

Limitation: The $15M annual figure is an economic-development estimate read via search results; state sales-tax exemption benefits are not addressed. (confidence detail: VERIFIED_PRIMARY (county) / DISCOVERY_LEAD ($15M estimate))

Open source →

Sources

Evidence and provenance

Open GA state research →

The Keep 2 Campus (Switch KEEP 2.0 Atlanta North) Data Center Project | Bartow County / Cartersville | Compute Equity Atlas